Please note our new address: 900 S. Lapeer Rd., Oxford, MI 48371

Committee Changes In House With Neeley Gone; Freeing Up Wentworth

House Speaker Lee Chatfield (R-Levering) announced Thursday changes to several committees to free up Rep. Jason Wentworth (R-Clare) and replace former Rep. Sheldon Neeley (D-Flint), as he resigned last year after being elected Flint mayor.

On the House Ways and Means Committee, Rep. Kyra Bolden (D-Southfield) will replace Mr. Neeley. Rep. Luke Meerman (R-Coopersville) will replace Mr. Wentworth. Ms. Bolden and Mr. Meerman will be the only first term lawmakers on the panel that takes a second look at almost all bills going to the House floor.

As speaker pro tempore and member of the leadership team, Mr. Wentworth is plugged into many issues and had too much going on, Gideon D’Assandro, spokesperson for House Republicans, said. Ways and Means meets multiple times per week.

To facilitate the Ways and Means changes, Rep. Yousef Rabhi (D-Ann Arbor) will replace Ms. Bolden on the Insurance Committee. She will remain on the Judiciary Committee, another key panel that can send bills directly to the House floor under its current committee structure.

Rep. Doug Wozniak (R-Shelby Township) will replace Mr. Meerman on the Commerce and Tourism Committee, Rep. Diana Farrington (R-Utica) will replace Mr. Meerman on the Families, Children and Seniors Committee and Rep. Greg Markkanen (R-Hancock) will replace him on the Local Government and Municipal Finance Committee.

On the Agriculture Committee, Rep. Mike Mueller (R-Linden) will become vice chair and Rep. Michele Hoitenga (R-Manton) will replace Mr. Meerman